Westlake Winners

Four winners at the Auckland College Sport Awards

The Auckland College Sport Young Sportsperson of the Year Awards were held at the end of November. There are three finalists in every category selected from secondary schools across the Auckland area. Westlake Girls had nine students selected to be one of the three finalists  in seven separate sporting areas. The Westlake finalist were: Amara Afghan (Squash), Dileesia…

Two medals at Volleyball Champs

The North Island Secondary Schools Beach Volleyball Championships were held in early December and Westlake teams came away with two medals from the Year 9 Grade. The Gold medal was won by Tamara Nu’u and Domi Menoita, and the Bronze medal by Georgia Melville and Lio Otsubo.

Junior Touch team wins title

The Westlake Girls junior touch team won the Auckland Secondary Schools junior touch title at the one-day tournament held in late November.

Students win North Harbour Sports Award

At the Massey University sponsored North Harbour Sport 2017 Excellence Awards, Year 13 students Brianna and Courtney Reynolds Smith won the category of Junior Team of the Year. Brianna and Courtney won the Yachting 470 under-20 World title in late August this year.

Major 2017 Sports Award Winners announced

At the Sports Awards ceremony held on 2 November, the top Sporting Awards were announced. They were: Sportswoman of the Year 2017 – Tamara Otene, Sporting All-rounder of the Year 2017 – Sara McCarthy, Junior Sportswoman of the Year – Kaia Tupu-South.

Top 2017 Academic Award Winners announced

At the Prizegiving held on the evening of 1 November, the top academic students for 2017 were announced. They are: 2017 Dux – Regina Lin and 2017 Proxime Accessit (runner up) to the Dux – Nicole Shu Ting Tan.

2018 Student Leaders announced

At the Special Awards Ceremony held on the morning of 1 November, the top School Leaders for 2018 were announced. They are: 2018 Head Prefect– Izzy Sheild, 2018 Deputy Head Prefect – Janice Lim, Akoranga House Leader – Izzy Ray-Chaudhuri, Hauraki House Leader – Iliarne Watson, Onewa House Leader – Bridget Layburn, Pupuke House Leader – Cynthia Liu, Wairau House Leader – Janelle Beamish.

Student wins New Zealand Golf title

Silvia Brunotti (Year 9) has become the youngest winner of the New Zealand Women’s Amateur Golf Championship. Silvia beat the defending champion 7 and 6 at the Russley Golf Club (Christchurch) to take the title. The previous youngest winner was New Zealand’s current number 1 ranked professional golfer Lydia Ko.

Rhythmic gymnasts win multiple medals

The New Zealand National Rhythmic Gymnastics Competition was held in late September and Westlake students won a number of medals. Stella Ebert (Year 10) and Aya Tanaka Probert (Year 11) both competed in the Senior International grade with Stella winning the Individual Competition and Aya placing 3rd overall. Laylah Waggie (Year…

Winning synchronised swimmers

Amy Lim (Year 11) and Abbey Armstrong  (Year 9) have won a number of medals at synchronised swimming events held recently. At the Synchro Swim New Zealand National Championships, Amy gained Silver medals in the Junior Solo and Aquarina Duet events and a Bronze medal for the Aqua Combo teams event. …