Curriculum & Learning

Love of Learning

About NCEA

The New Zealand Curriculum applies to all school students, irrespective of gender, ethnicity, belief, ability or disability, social or cultural background, or geographical location in New Zealand. The Curriculum specifies eight essential learning areas which describe in broad terms the knowledge and understanding which all students need to acquire.

  • – English
  • – The Arts
  • – Health and Physical Education
  • – Language and Languages
  • – Mathematics and Statistics
  • – Science
  • – Social Sciences
  • – Technology

The National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA) is the senior secondary school national qualification which was implemented in all New Zealand schools in 2002.

2019 NZQA Examination Fees

The School cannot accept any further payments for NZQA. Payments outstanding will now be payable to NZQA directly.

The quickest and easiest way for candidates to pay NZQA directly is to log in to the NZQA website and pay their 2018 fees online using their Learner Login. If this is not possible, candidates can complete the  School Candidate Form – Payment of NZQA Fees and make a manual payment. Relevant details are provided on the form.

Late Fees and Reminders

Any NCEA and New Zealand Scholarship payments made after 1 December 2019 may incur a late fee of $50. 

For more information:

NCEA Review 

In 2018, the government released an NCEA Review discussion document which was open for public consultation and feedback.  WGHS submitted a NCEA Review Detailed Submission, which was a collation of the feedback provided by staff, parents/community and students.  

Findings from the public engagement have now been released and the summary is now available, as well as the full report