MENU
SEARCH
CONTACT AND ABSENCES

Latest News

WGHS closed

The Government’s announcement that Auckland will move to Alert Level 3 from 11.59pm this evening, means our school will be shut until at least Wednesday evening.

Online learning

Your daughter’s teachers will use Google Classrooms on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday as a way of uploading work and communicating with your daughter. She will be able to access that work, and complete it at her own pace. Your daughter’s House Deans should be the first point of contact for any concerns or issues you have about your daughter’s learning or wellbeing. There is a list of Deans and their emails below.

Students of essential workers

All students aged 14 years and over are expected to stay home and complete online learning. However, if you are an essential worker and your daughter is under 14, she is able to come to school and should report in at the back door of the Admin Building at 8.45am tomorrow morning. She should bring her device and a packed lunch.

School Facilities
At Level 3, teachers and support staff are encouraged to work from home, so our reception, grounds, classrooms and Admin Building will not be accessible to visitors. Students are not permitted to come onto the school grounds to collect items from their lockers. If Alert Level 3 extends beyond three days, we will make arrangements for students to collect items if necessary.

School events

Unfortunately, our Year 9 Parent Information Evening on Wednesday,  and our Year 11 NCEA Information Evening on Tuesday will need to be postponed. We will have more details about our school Swimming Sports, planned for Friday, once we know more about any subsequent Government decisions.

Moving Forward

We have robust procedures in place, thanks to our experiences during the previous lockdowns. Once again, we will be working with the Ministry of Education and Ministry of Health as we make decisions. We will be in touch over the next couple of days as we know more.

House Deans

The House Dean contacts are:

Akoranga: Will Anderton (wanderton@westlakegirls.school.nz) and Jemma Field (jfield@westlakegirls.school.nz)

Hauraki: Louise Clouston (loclouston@westlakegirls.school.nz) and Soo Lee (slee@westlakegirls.school.nz)

Onewa: Maggie Cogger-Orr (mcogger-orr@westlakegirls.school.nz) and Kate Lawrence  (Klawrence@westlakegirls.school.nz)

Pupuke: Rachel Carson (rcarson@westlakegirls.school.nz) and Nicola Ov (nov@westlakegirls.school.nz)

Wairau: Ella Wilson (ewilson@westlakegirls.school.nz) and Ashley Longstaff (alongstaff@westlakegirls.school.nz)

We understand the move to Level 3 will be upsetting for some students, and our counsellors are available for phone consultations between 8.30am and 3.30pm. You can text them to make an appointment using the numbers below:

Linda Clouston: 0273818379
Barbara Mackay: 0273814294
Fleur Piper: 0273804578
Siew Lee: 0273811323